Real Answers.
Honest Opinions.
Aggressive Representation.

What are the 4 levels of appeals for disability applications?

On Behalf of | Dec 19, 2019 | Social Security Disability |

You applied for Social Security Disability (SSD), and you thought you’d done everything you could to make it clear that you have a serious disability. You’ve struggled with your finances, learned to live with less and are just looking to get the financial security you deserve back.

You were shocked when you received a denial letter from the Social Security Administration (SSA). The letter claimed there wasn’t enough information to approve your benefits, even though you had medical notes and a diagnosis right there for them to see.

You can appeal a denied disability application

The good thing to remember is that you can always appeal a denial of SSD benefits. You may be able to appeal and get the rejection overturned, or you may need to move on and try to get it overturned through one of three additional appeals levels.

There are four levels of appeal that you should know. They are:

  • Reconsideration
  • Having a hearing with an ALJ (Administrative Law judge)
  • Asking the Social Security Administration Appeals Council for a review
  • Filing a claim with the government in federal court

Many people are able to get the benefits they need with a reconsideration appeal. You should keep in mind that you can represent yourself, but you may have a better chance of success with your appeal if you work with your attorney to put together your case. The SSA directly protects and guarantees your right to representation, which should indicate that the process is complex and may require an attorney’s intimate knowledge of the Social Security system.